“Small Talk” – A Song About Social Life and Cats

Conversation has never been my strong suit.

Very rarely am I able to get out of my own head long enough to enjoy a conversation. Because of this, I absolutely love when I go to a party and there’s a pet present. The pet gives me an excuse to not think about the expectations of social life I’ve created.

But relying on animals to feel better in social situations can be dangerous, especially in the case of cats. Cats aren’t always down to help with your crippling social anxiety.

This song that I’ve written is about dealing with regular small talk, and being left wanting to do nothing but pet your cat at home. In this case, though, the cat does as cats do and disappears somewhere. Is he outside? Is he in a room somewhere? Is he in the crawl space? Who the fuck knows. It’s possible cats can teleport.

Anyway, this song is about a man realizing his cat is not very supportive in times of emotional need. And it’s presented in an extremely dramatic fashion because that’s how my brain works.

Has your cat abandoned you? Tell me your story in the comments!

Share this with your cat-loving friends.

Leave a comment